Moretti premiered his last film, “Tre Piani,” at last year’s Cannes Film Festival, where he has become a regular in competition. He won the Palme d’Or in 2001 for his incredible tragedy drama “The Son’s Room.” I don’t believe he’s been able to match that film in his ensuing 4 features, although he came damn close with 2015’s “Mia Madre.” I did not like the soap-ish “Tre Piani” when I saw it last July. I wrote in my Cannes dispatch: “Tre Piani,” the story of three families living in three apartments in the same bourgeois condominium in Italy, belongs nowhere near [the official] competition. In fact, it’s so melodramatic and sentimental that it would be no surprise at all to find something similar like it on Telemundo.” I can see Moretti saving this film for Cannes 2023 or, potentially, premiering it in his home country in September when the Venice Film Festival is set to occur. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy